Imagination: The Power of a Postive Mind

Welcome back! (to you and me!) As some of you noticed i didn’t post last week, for which i have to apologize! No time or need for excuses and explanations but I am back and ready to provide you guys with AWESOMENESS! Read on for a BIG – negative to a + positive kind of story about living life beyond limits (plus a little running training tip)!

After talking to my very good friend and new amazing running partner, Danny Kessler, during our challenging fartlek workout he asked me to write a blog post on ways to encourage yourself and talk yourself into a positive state of mind.

OKAY so now lets talk about the POWER of a POSITIVE MIND, changing negative/discouraging thoughts into positive/encouraging thoughts! This can work in EVERY aspect of your life. When you tell yourself that you cant do something you are limiting yourself to extreme measures.

I am sure the majority of you Laughed Out Loud when you read “fartlek”. What a great word! WHAT IS A FARTLEK? …. In Sweedish the word means “speed play”. Well kind of like a FART you are running in quick, short, bursts. It is a form of interval training where you run timed speeds. The purpose behind this is to teach your body how to recover from stress and challenging your aerobic energy system. This workout is not only physically challenging but it is mentally challenging!

(at the bottom of this post i am including the structure of our fartlek training sessions in case any of you would like to try it out in your training)

When I am sprinting for a minute during a fartlek there is a moment somewhere around 20 seconds in when my body feels it cant go any harder but i concentrate and think to myself “I CAN GO HARDER, I CAN RUN FASTER, I CAN PUSH MY BODY MORE” by the time i think all of those things i have gone harder, i have ran faster, and i have pushed my body more BUT most importantly those last 40 seconds have past and I get to ‘rest’ again.  By the end of these workouts I feel SO rewarded and accomplished from pushing through what i thought of as an impossible boundary.  HOWEVER, instead of thinking of it as impossible I just think of it as a test and challenge. (I’ve turned a negative thought into a positive, and in turn get positive results: emotionally, physically, and mentally)

While my story above is an example of how I change negative thoughts into positive ones, this story is a TRUE inspiration and makes me tremendously grateful for people who can continuously inspire me and teach me that this trick of -negative to a +positive can carry us through GREAT measures! If you WANT to be inspired to a whole new level WATCH the video below about Amy Purdy, a woman who at the time was just a year younger than me and lost both of her legs and several internal organs. Learn how she has thrived and has made her community a truly beautiful place!

If Amy can have such a positive attitude and outlook on life, why can’t you? YOU are the ONLY person who can truly be the author of your own story, how do you want your book to end?

As promised here is the structure of my fartlek sessions, for any of my readers that would like to take their training to the next level:
1. Stretch:  this doesn’t have to be an intense stretch but you’ll be working your muscles hard! This will help prevent any pulled muscles.
1. WARM UP! Run for about 5-10 minutes, a half-mile or full-mile will do JUST fine.
2. fartlek speed for one minute: this speed should be hard! Pushing your body and speed to about 90% by the end you should be VERY out of breath…seems crazy but you get a treat at the next step! (yay for rewards!)
3. easy running pace for 3 minutes: you WILL want to walk but DON’T, use your breathe to lower your heart rate, in through your nose, out through your mouth. You have 3 minutes to recover, your body CAN do this!
4. repeat 2 & 3: I have been doing these over a 2-3 mile distance.  However you can do it for time if you’d prefer that, if you are doing it for time i suggest 30-45 minutes. 3 miles we did about 7 cycles, and for our two miles we did about 5.
5. COOL DOWN! after your last sprint go back to your easy running pace for 5-10 minutes, this should be about another half mile to a mile.
6. STRETCH!

Thank you for stopping by and remember…How do you want your book to end? How do you want to tell your story? How can you take initiative in living your life to the fullest?

As always…nothing but peace love and happiness!

Comments
9 Responses to “Imagination: The Power of a Postive Mind”
  1. Great post D!! I came across that video a couple of weeks ago and LOVED it! It’s so powerful it gives me chills.

    Love,

    K

    • Hey Kayla!

      Isn’t that video fabulous, it makes me want to conquer the world! If Amy can do it anyone can do it! Talk about overcoming huge obstacles and road blocks!

      SO SO powerful, she is truly an inspiration and what an amazing woman!

      Have a great day!

      D

  2. Oh my god!! This is an awesome post Darian. Gret job on finding Amy’s amazing and encouraging story :D. A few months ago a read a great quote that said, “Don’t limit your challenges, challenge your limits.” Couldn’t relate at the moment to that… But I really like it. Amy’s story boils down to this quote and now I have a better understanding of what she is saying.

    Like she said, obstacles could stop us on our way to our goals and dreams or we can get creative and find ways to get to our aspirations beside any terrible cirscumstance or tribulation in the journey.

    Right now, I’m speechless!!! It’s all about mindset and perspective. I’m fired up!! Thanks for putting together such a wonderful and inspiring post.

    Keep the good work champ :-). I believe in “YOU”.

    Best,

    Taso

    • WOW! TASO! I FEEEEL your energy in every word written in your comment! I am so thrilled that Amy’s video helped you to understand and relate to that quote! I felt the same way about Amy’s video and was literally blown away by it!

      I am so glad you are feeling what i am feeling after having heard Amy’s story! TOTALLY FIRED UP!

      Thanks for coming by and for your constant support! You’re extraordinary!

      Live inspired!

      Darian

  3. Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me.

  4. Kelly Greist says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    • Hi Kelly!

      Thank you so much for your comment! I am so happy that you felt passionate enough about this topic to encourage me to write more about it! I appreciate your feedback and will definitely acknowledge your suggestion and write more on the topic!

      Thank you again and All the best!
      Darian

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I have learned so much from posting these blogs.  Weather it was learning about Amy Purdy and her inspirational story,  Paul Rice and how he is making a positive impact on the world, or […]



Leave a Reply

